What Does Car Insurance Cover in an Accident?
Accident Claims In New York
After a serious auto accident, the last thing you want to do is notiate with an insurance company. You are likely more worried about your injuries and how you will pay your bills. Your health should be your first priority, but you may want to know how your insurance works, as well as that of the other driver. Insurance companies will always try to pay the least amount possible on your claim, and you need an advocate fighting for the benefits you deserve.
At Edelman & Edelman, P.C., we have decades of experience assisting clients with auto insurance claims and negotiating payments. You do not have to go through this process alone. We will explain to you how your auto insurance will work and what you can expect from the process. We can also handle the negotiations with the insurance company, bringing a lawsuit if necessary to obtain fair compensation.
Understanding No-Fault Insurance
The good news is that New York is a no-fault insurance state with what is referred to as personal injury protection (PIP). That means that your own insurance will cover your medical bills, no matter who caused the accident, up to $50,000. You can feel confident getting the medical care you need right away, without waiting for the insurance companies to approve a claim.
PIP covers the following items:
- Medical bills, including prescription drugs
- Lost wages due to the injury
- Assistance for housekeeping and transportation
You do need to file your no-fault claim within 30 days of your accident. Property damage to your vehicle is a separate claim and not included in your PIP.
The Role Of Liability Insurance
If the other driver’s negligence caused the accident, you may also make a claim against their liability insurance. Once you reach your medical limit for your no-fault insurance, you can make a claim against the other driver’s insurance for continued medical care or a serious injury. New York law requires drivers to carry the following minimum liability insurance:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person or $50,000 for two people
- Property damage: $10,000 per accident
- Death: $50,000 per person or $100,000 for two people
Although the law requires coverage, not every driver purchases insurance. If the driver who causes your accident is uninsured, you may end up back with your own insurance company if you have uninsured motorist coverage. This policy will cover your damages if the other driver does not have insurance.
Don’t Face The Insurance Companies Alone
Edelman & Edelman, P.C. is ready to help you navigate the insurance policies involved with your accident. Please contact our office today at 212-235-1197 or online to arrange a free consultation with an experienced accident attorney.